Tuesdays with Ana: A time to read, and a time to write

I’m with you Ana. Last night I actually watched an entire movie in one sitting. I can’t remember the last time I was able to just do that. ♡

Anastasia Vitsky

I’m not a huge fan of folk music, but one song has always tugged at my heart. “Turn! Turn! Turn! (to Everything There Is a Season)” by Pete Seeger is the sort of song that’s played on the radio, in films, and in many popular contexts. Add the Biblical text of the lyrics, and it’s a song that speaks to a broad range of people at key moments of their lives. Wikipedia tells me that twenty-nine artists and groups have performed a cover of the song, ranging from Tori Amos to Bruce Springsteen to Dolly Parton to The Byrds.

This recording of Mary Hopkin singing the song in Welsh (her native tongue) stopped me in my tracks. She recorded an English version of the song as an audition (when she was 18 and looked about 14) that’s sweet and shows off her voice, but the Welsh version is stunning. There’s…

View original post 744 more words

Leave a Reply

