Beltane Witch: A Visit With Siobhan Muir

 

beltanewitch

 

Magic, mayhem, and motherhood… a witch’s work is never done, but Sabrina draws the line at the Fae.

After almost two decades as a practicing witch in Cloudburst, Colorado, Sabrina Foxglove is done with men, magic, and the fertility rituals of High Beltane. She’s dealt with all three before and ended up with a young daughter and no partner. Twice. She’s looking forward to a magic-free May Day, with nothing more exciting than making brownies for a kindergarten class and decorating a May Pole. She definitely doesn’t have time for a handsome, Fae-touched man.

After almost two centuries as the human chamberlain to the Fae’s Summer Court, Darius Winterbourne is a man accustomed to getting his way. So when the Summer Queen tasks him with finding a witch to perform the annual rituals and strengthen the ancient warding magicks, he figures it should be easy. He doesn’t expect Sabrina’s hardheaded refusal, her untrained abilities, or his attraction to her. With less than a week to Beltane, he must gain Sabrina’s trust before he loses his home, his position…and his heart.

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18115197-the-beltane-witch?ac=1

post divider-pen

1. How did you get started writing erotica?
I got started when my husband told me romance was bunk and all the guys had baseball bats for dicks. I looked at him and said, “Let me try to write one you’d read.” He let me and now he loves the romance I write. As for the erotic side of it, he wouldn’t be interested in sweet romance. 😉
2. It is so rare to find an author that writes pagan erotic stories. Tell me a little about what stirs your blood.
Normally I steer clear of witches because I don’t feel like I have enough knowledge to write them accurately (the magic and rituals and all). But this story came out of a dream, complete with characters, motivations, conflicts, and holiday. The muse wouldn’t let me NOT write it down. What really stirs my blood about the pagan celebrations is the connection to the divine. How people can become divine in those moments of devotion and revelation. It’s something I strive for in my daily life because that connection is within all of us.
3. Tell me a little about your book, The Beltane Witch.
The Beltane Witch follows Sabrina Foxglove, a single mom and pagan practitioner who’s been asked to perform the High Beltane rituals to secure the magical energy in Cloudburst. The problem is she doesn’t have time for magic, men, or the Fae, even if the Summer Queen is ordering her to do it. Darius Winterbourne, the Chancellor of the Summer Court has been sent to acquire a witch to perform the rituals and it’s always been easy for him in the past. But Sabrina doesn’t want the honor and kicks him out on his ear. With the Queen breathing down his neck and Sabrina’s stubbornness meeting him head on, Darius is going to have to come up with something quick or he might lose everything. Including his heart.
4. What was the sexiest scene you ever wrote?
The sexiest scene I’ve ever written was in the end of The Beltane Witch when they danced for Beltane. It was wild, erotic, primal and hot. The words and actions flowed straight out of me and it was the first time writing a love scene when I had to stop and fan myself (or tackle my husband) because it affected me as much as the characters.
5. What three things are on your writing desk right now.
Three Monster High dolls – Jinafire Long (dragon), Skelita Calaveras (really cool skeleton), and Rochelle Goyle (gargolye); a microscope, and my Kindle Fire.
6. If I were your most favorite cookie in the world, what would I be?
Lemon Squares
7. What is your most favorite holiday and why?
Thanksgiving – no presents to keep track of or wrapping paper to clean up, but great food and great company, plus screaming at sports on TV. 😀
8. Plotter or pantster?
An odd hybrid of both – I write a general outline with any details I want to remember, then let the muse go and see where the story takes me.
9. What advice do you have for writers when they undertake their first novel length piece?
Don’t worry about the length, but keep the pacing up the whole story long. You have to make it exciting even if the story is more than three chapters. Develop your characters and tie up all the lose ends. Knowing what the goals, motivations, and conflicts (both internal and external) are really help make a longer story interesting.
10. What is next on the writing horizon? Will there be more witchy books to compliment Beltane Witch? (I hope so!)
In terms of what you can read next, there is a short story coming out in a Christmas anthology entitled Happy Holidays from the Crescent Moon Lodge. My story is Christmas ICE Magic and features an Ice Demon. After that is a Menage a SEALs, a military romantic suspense, which should be out in November. The third Cloudburst Colorado tale is coming in 2014 and you’ll see Sabrina Foxglove and Darius Winterbourne briefly in it, as well as learn what’s going on with Sabrina’s friend Moira and her hero, Aiden. There will be magic involved and a really bad guy coming to haunt Moira. Exciting stuff. 🙂
Thanks for being on the blog today! It was wonderful to have you and I can’t wait to read more of the Cloudburst series!

4 thoughts on “Beltane Witch: A Visit With Siobhan Muir

  1. siobhanmuir says:

    Thanks so much for having me today, Erzabet. 🙂

  2. Silver James says:

    Hi, Siobhan. (Not that I’m stalking you or anything…;)). Hi, Erzabet. Thanks for hosting one of my favorite people and authors today. I don’t read much erotic romance but I love the way Siobhan weaves the sexy bits into the story to make the whole thing more compelling. Her characters are fascinating and I know she does a lot of research to “get things right.” THE BELTAINE WITCH was a fun read and I can’t wait for more Cloudburst stories. (And the marines. Ooh-rah!)

    • siobhanmuir says:

      Thank you, Silver! Erotic romance to me is the explicit description of the intimate interaction between the characters. If the characters aren’t interesting, there’s no real need for the sex at all. Life in general is a myriad of flavors and activities. So too should really well written erotic romance. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  3. sandye52 says:

    I loved the interview, Siobhan. Learned a few more things about you and looking forward to your upcoming book releases. 😃

Leave a Reply

