Monday Morning Fika with Siobhan Muir: Making your stories real

I love this article and must read The Beltane Witch…a story after my own heart!

Anastasia Vitsky

What makes a story feel real?

I’m absolutely delighted that Ana asked me to join in her Fika Mondays. Ana and I met on Six Sentence Sunday when we were both trying to get our names out there and find out about other authors we’d never read. Though we don’t usually read each other’s genres, one trait we both share in our storytelling is the ability to capture just enough reality to grab the reader.

So what makes a story feel real?

For me, it’s the ability of the author to make me feel like I could be there, in the story, doing what the characters are doing. I need dialog and vivid description to take me into the world, to hold me there, and make me believe I could be experiencing everything going on. Suspension of disbelief is necessary as well, but there has to be enough realism, particularly…

View original post 743 more words

2 thoughts on “Monday Morning Fika with Siobhan Muir: Making your stories real

  1. siobhanmuir says:

    Thanks so much for reblogging and sharing, Erzabet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

